Softball earns No. 3 seed and will host NCAA Regional




Editor-in-chief at hookemreport
Randy Maltz is a die-hard sports fan, with passion for the Dallas Cowboys and Texas Longhorns. He is Founder & Editor of Silver and Blue Report and Hook 'em Report. He still idolizes Roger Staubach and Tom Landry.

Softball earns No. 3 seed and will host NCAA Regional
Texas earns the No. 3 national seed and will host Louisiana-Lafayette, Houston and Texas State in the NCAA Austin Regional, Friday-Sunday, May 20-22.

Texas Sports
Link Below

AUSTIN, Texas — The University of Texas Softball team has earned the No. 3 national seed in the 2011 NCAA Championship and will host an NCAA Regional at Red and Charline McCombs Field. The Longhorns will be making their seventh-straight and 12th overall NCAA appearance when they host the three-day NCAA Austin Regional.

Texas (45-8) received an at-large berth to the 64-team 2011 NCAA Championship and will compete in a four-team, double elimination NCAA Regional from Friday-Sunday, May 20-22. Head coach Connie Clark’s squad will open regional action on Friday against Texas State at 6:30 p.m. Central. The Bobcats (33-23) won the Southland Tournament and received an automatic bid into the NCAA field.

The other two teams at the Austin Regional are Houston (40-16), which earned an at-large berth and Louisiana Lafayette (49-9) the champion of the Sun Belt Conference. Houston will take on ULL on Friday at 4 p.m. Central in first-round action.

The game times for Friday, Saturday and Sunday in Austin will be announced as soon as they are available.

Arizona State (50-6) was named the No. 1 seed in the 64-team field, while Alabama (46-8) earned the No. 2 seed, followed by the Longhorns, fourth-seeded Florida (47-9) and fifth-seeded Missouri (46-7).

Thirty conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 34 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites this weekend.

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition, when possible.

The Big 12 Conference led all conferences with eight teams in the championship. The Southeastern Conference and Pac-10 placed seven in the championship while five teams from Conference USA were selected. California State University, Fresno, remains the only team to be selected to all 30 championships. Four teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: Jackson State University, Jacksonville University, University of Memphis and New Mexico State University.

Only 10 schools have been crowned the NCAA Division I softball champion since the tournament started in 1982, and nine are in this year’s bracket.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Previous post:

Next post: